Conman swindled Premier League goalkeeper Wright out of £400,000

Posted: September 29, 2012 in sports
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Richard Wright (PA)

 

David Bowerman, 35, has pleaded guilty to 33 charges of fraud worth a combined £5m. He encouraged investors, including the former England international, with the promise of huge returns, only to lose their money.

As well as Wright being swindled out of £400,000, he also left his own mother out of pocket by £36,000, while Chelmsford City Football Club’s ex-chairman Peter Stroud lost more than £1m.

Bowerman’s guilty plea, however, did not elicit any sympathy from Stroud.

“He may have pleaded guilty,” Stroud told the Essex Chronicle, “but I don’t think this is a sign that he is taking responsibility for what he has done.

“Pleading guilty gives him a shorter sentence – that is all it is about.

“To four counts he hasn’t even pleaded guilty. He targeted whoever he could, he is an absolute low-life.”

Bowerman has not yet been sentenced, but has been remanded in custody by Judge David Turner QC.

Prosecutor Anthony Swift explained in court: “Some of the money which went to a company Shearer Hare, which was a betting company, was to fund his gambling addiction and he also bought cars.”

Bowerman’s counsel, Christopher Kerr, told the judge: “He knows it will be a lengthy sentence.”

originally from uk.yahoo.com

what are your thoughts on this? leave a comment on what you think.

 

Comments
  1. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to understand so much approximately this, such as you wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you simply could do with some percent to force the message house a bit, however instead of that, that is great blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

  2. Valuable information. Fortunate me I found your site by accident, and I’m stunned why this twist of fate didn’t came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

  3. I’ve read some just right stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you place to create the sort of wonderful informative site.

  4. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful information particularly the ultimate section 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  5. obviously like your web-site however you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very bothersome to tell the truth however I’ll certainly come again again.

Leave a Reply

